Log in to Opiq at https://e-oppi.opiq.fi/Account/Login. If you don’t have an account yet, you can request one by contacting us: firstname.lastname@example.org. You can change the language from Finnish to English at the bottom of any page in Opiq.
Create a course
Click the numbers in the pictures to navigate between different views!
After creating a course, your new course will be found on the Tasks and courses tab.
Adding pupils to a course
Open the Tasks and courses tab. Click on the cover of the course book you created and go to it’s Settings tab.
First, you need to activate the pupils’ licences. You can assign pupils to a course in several ways:
Adding pupils manually with Add or edit pupils (2A)
Recommended when there are few new pupils or the teaching group is small. On the Settings page for a course, click on the Add or edit pupils button. Fill in the pupil’s details and click Add pupils.
The Select from current or archived lists button can be used to add pupils from a previous course to the book. You can see the groups from the previous year by changing the learning period menu to the year 2021-2022.
If you are adding pupils to the course manually yourself, you do not need to send the template/example message and codes below. An invitation to the platform is sent automatically to the new pupil’s email. The invitation contains a link to register by creating an account or using another authentication method. After completing the registration, the pupil will be automatically added to the correct school and course. No automatic invitation will be sent to previous users of Opiq, but the course will appear on their Opiq homepage.
Joining with a code (2B)
This method is recommended if you have a large number of pupils and/or several groups. Click on the green Activate joining with code button and copy the code into the template message sent to the group.
Also include your school code in the message. This code can be found on Opiq by clicking on your name in the top right-hand corner and clicking School settings.
It is important to always log in to the platform using the same button as the one used to create/authenticate the account, and not to create multiple user accounts. The Opiq button is used if the account was created using an email and password. If the password is forgotten, it can be renewed by clicking on the ”Forgot your Opiq password?” button on the login screen.
Functions in digital books
All functions within the book are visible to both the teacher and the pupil. If the teacher adds their own material to the book using the Add own content function, this addition will also appear in the pupil’s book.
The colour highlights and comments made to the text are specific to the user account, i.e. they are visible only to the user who made them. All editing functions are also book-specific, which means that they also appear in courses created later.
The artificial intelligence-assisted More like this feature can be used to find content on the same topic in our different textbooks. By using this function, the users have access to our whole library of textbooks from different subjects via links.
The digital book can be navigated with Opiq’s own buttons in addition to the browser’s back button. The Navigation buttons in the upper right corner show a list of both the chapter and its tasks, as well as a shortcut button, e.g., to move from the chapter to the tasks and vice versa. Use the arrow keys to move between chapters. The left-pointing arrow in the upper left corner always takes you to a higher level in the hierarchy.
Pupils do not automatically see exercises which are in the book’s exercise kit. The teacher can easily share exercises to pupils or assign a separate set of tasks. There are also some exercises inside study kits and those are visible to pupils too.
With the Share with pupils tool, you can quickly publish the exercises for the pupils to see. The pupil can find these exercises in the table of contents view by chapter from the number button indicating their number. The pupil can do, save and submit exercises one by one, but cannot edit answers after sending them to the teacher. However, the teacher can only see a summary of the answers (both for individual pupils and the whole group) but cannot view the pupils’ individual answers. Pupils will see the correct answers to the automatically corrected tasks when they have submitted their answers to the teacher.
Use the Assign task tool for exercises you want to review, comment, and/or rate and resubmit as an assignment for correction. Exercises you have created yourself must also be shared with this tool. You can assign tasks to all or only some pupils. These assigned tasks will be also notified on the student’s home page. The pupil can do, save and then submit all tasks in the set at the same time. The teacher can give evaluation with buttons, make comments and then publish results to pupils with the Disclose score button or send them back for reassignment. Please note that the evaluation method can be changed, and the percentage score is only the default setting.
TIP: Share all exercises to pupils so they can see and do them independently if they want. After sharing the exercises of the chapter, proceed to the next chapter with the arrow buttons in the upper corner. Use the Assign tasks tool to create task sets only from the exercises you want to evaluate in detail. This makes continuous evaluation of pupils easier, as all tasks do not have to be reviewed. Please note that you can also compile sets of tasks from exercises found in different chapters.